Eleven suspects arrested in connection with  the SIM card swapping scam will cool their heels for 10 days in police custody to “help with investigations.”

This comes at a time when the police have intensified the fight on SIM-card-swapping scam which has seen Kenyans conned colossal amounts of money in the last few months.

The suspects include Safaricom employees, businessmen and students from various learning institutions.

They are  believed to be part of the group of fraudsters who have conned Kenyans out of millions of shillings in prank calls.

The suspects who appeared at the Milimani law courts are said to have executed fraudulent transaction s to various cellphone numbers that “end up without a trace.”

“I find that the investigations involve electronic fraud and access to mobile phone users and the suspects have the know how to access and interfere with the ongoing investigations.I detain the suspects for 10 days which i find to be reasonable,”ruled senior principal  magistrate Kennedy Cheruyoit.

Assorted SIM cards

They were arrested on July 28 2018 in Kasarani and Pipeline areas, Nairobi county by Cyber Crime unit officers and other agencies.

Police carried out as each at their respective residences and recovered thousands of assorted SIM cards, Airtel, Safaricom and Telcom cards, four laptops, one Safaricom modem, 24 mobile phones, two M-pesa agent record books, an agent number, Airtel money agent booklet and IEBC registration of voters lists.

The items have been impounded as exhibits in the case.

“The offences facing the subjects are serious, including electronic fraud and conspiracy to defraud several complaints,” state counsel Kennedy Panyako.

Mobile banking

Police say the investigations are extensive and involve analysis of call data records and mobile banking account statements from service providers, cyber reports from electronic gadgets recovered from the suspects.

Investigations also involve Communication Authority of Kenya (CAK) officials suspected to be part of the scam.

The suspects are  Joash Nyamanya, Martin Kisungu, Juma Raburo, Francis Njeru,  Richard Marigi, Rymon Kisongo, Sycliff Mukeku, Patrick Mwangi, Caroline Njeri, Nelson Osoro and Duke Kenyariri.